Parliamentary Group for Tibet

Since the STFA played a key role in the establishment of the Tibet Parliamentary Group in 1989, it has worked closely with it.

The group is currently (November 2023) made up of 20 national and state councilors from all political camps and there are parliamentarians from German and French-speaking Switzerland represented. The co-presidium consists of three people: Fabian Molina (SP), Nik Gugger (EVP) and Nicolas Walder (GP). Maya Graf (GP) is Vice President.

Its aim is to publicize the Tibetan issue nationally, to encourage initiatives and to inform the Federal Council about the situation in Tibet.

The members meet two to three times a year. They repeatedly appear as speakers at Tibetan rallies and in this way help to raise public awareness of the topic.

The Tibetan Parliamentary Group currently consists of the following members:

Party / cantonFirst NameLast Name
GPS/BEChristineBadertscherNational Councilor
SP/GELaurenceMiss RielleNational Councilor
SP/SGClaudiafriedlNational Councilor
GPS / ZHBalthasarGlättliNationalrat
GPS / BLMayaGrafCouncilor
EPP / ZHNikguggernational council
SP/SGBarbaraGysiNational Councilor
SP/AGIreneKälinNational Councilor
SP / ZHFabianMolinaNationalrat
middle / SUNStefanMüller-AltermattNationalrat
SP/SHMartinaMunzNational Councilor
GPS / ZHCatherinePrelicz-HuberNational Councilor
Middle / ValaisBenjaminProductNationalrat
SVP / ZHBarbarastonemanNational Councilor
GPS / GLMathiasbraidSenate

The GSTF does the work in the background in all these areas - be it organizing such events, writing applications, asking questions to the Federal Council and especially in supporting and maintaining contact with politicians.

The following questions, reports and submitted interpellations illustrate the work of the Tibetan Parliamentary Group in cooperation with the STFA:

2008-2015: 21 questions / 5 interpellations / 0 postulates / 0 motion / 0 petition Total advances: 26 in 8 years
2016-2023: 35 questions / 15 interpellations / 3 postulates / 4 motion / 3 petitions Total advances: 60 in 8 years
2008-2023: 56 questions / 20 interpellations / 3 postulates / 4 motion / 3 petitions Total advances: 86 in 15 years